Published on June 16, 2016 by Katie Stripling  
Ebony Adams receiving the Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award

On Friday, April 22, 132 third year pharmacy students were honored at the annual Professional Pinning Ceremony in Samford’s Reid Chapel. The event recognizes students as they make the transition from the predominately classroom environment to advanced pharmacy practice experiences. DeAnn Mullins, president-elect of the National Community Pharmacists Association, provided the keynote address.

Numerous recognitions occurred during the event including:

Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award: Ebony Adams

Cardinal Health Annual Independent Pharmacy Scholarship: Zach Burns

Margaret Self Propst Pharmacy Teacher of the Year Award: Dr. Jeffery Kyle

The top performers in the Pharmacy Curriculum Outcomes Assessment were also recognized. 

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.