Published on September 18, 2020  

Samford University’s Board of Trustees welcomed a new trustee and approved new faculty and the naming of two facilities at its September 11 meeting.

Seven new faculty members were approved in School of the Arts, School of Health Professions, Cumberland School of Law, Moffett and Sanders School of Nursing and the School of Public Health.

Trustees approved the naming of two facilities. The Joe Goode Coaches Locker Room in the J.T. Haywood Field House was named in honor of the many contributions of Joseph Lee Goode ’52. The cardiovascular training equipment room at the Samford Track and Soccer Stadium was named the Josh and Whitney Reidinger Track and Cross Country Cardio Room in honor of alumni Josh and Whitney Reidinger.

Also approved was the establishment of the Orlean Beeson Award in the Orlean Beeson School of Education. The award will be given from time to time to individuals (non-alumni) who have made profound and lasting contributions to the school of education through their service, talent and/or financial support.  

Members of 27 advisory boards across the university were approved for 2020-21. Advisory boards consist of alumni, parents, donors and friends of the university who provide advocacy, support and guidance for various academic, co-curricular and philanthropic programs.

Cecelia A. Walker, executive director of chaplaincy and clinical pastoral education for Brookwood Baptist Health System in Birmingham, was welcomed as a new member of the Board.  Walker, a graduate of Beeson Divinity School, previously served as a member of Samford’s Board of Overseers. Trustees reelected to additional four-year terms were Linda H. Bachus, former Samford lecturer; Sherri Foyt, former elementary school teacher and church and civic volunteer; Randy Gunter, pastor, Meadowbrook Baptist Church; John E. King, Jr., church/community relations specialist, Birmingham Metro Baptist Association; Mary Shaw, retired music teacher; Zeke W. Smith, executive vice president, Alabama Power Company; Sharon D. Stuart, partner, Christian & Small LLP; and Rachel C. Wachter, registered dietitian and diabetes educator. The Board also approved James C. Stivender as an Honorary Trustee. A former board chair, Stivender has served as a Samford trustee since 1958.

Officers of the board reelected for 2020-2021 were William J. Stevens, retired president and chief executive officer, Motion Industries, chair; Robert Holmes, Jr., retired senior vice president, Alabama Power Company, vice chair; Victor E. Nichol, Jr., retired president and EO, First National Banker’s Bank, secretary; and Sherri Foyt, assistant secretary.

Resolutions implementing the December 2019 decision of the Board to freeze the pension plan effective December 31, 2020 and introduce “transition credits” to the 403(b) plan beginning on or after January 1, 2021 , were also adopted.

The Forever Samford campaign was reported to have received cash, property and pledges exceeding $192.9 million, representing 64% of the $300 million campaign goal. Trustees also received reports on Samford’s response to COVID-19, academic affairs, enrollment, student life and marketing. 

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.