Published on November 5, 2018 by Katie Stripling  

The executive committee of Samford University’s board of trustees approved new faculty and donor recognitions at their fall meeting October 30.

Trustees approved seven new faculty appointments in six academic areas – academic affairs, communication sciences and disorders, divinity, healthcare administration, law and nursing. 

Carol Ratcliffe was appointed chair and professor in Samford’s Department of Healthcare Administration. Ratcliffe has been on faculty since 2013.

Trustees also recognized donors by naming spaces in the College of Health Sciences facilities and Cumberland School of Law’s Memory Leake Robinson Hall.

In a series of reports by university administrators, trustees heard an update on construction on campus and progress in the university’s campus master plan. They also learned that freshman enrollment for 2019 is tracking ahead of the previous year, and that $154 million has been given or pledged to the $300 million Forever Samford campaign. The university’s endowment was valued at $301,615,221 million as of August 31, 2018.

The next meeting of the full board will be Dec. 4.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.