Published on August 10, 2016 by Philip Poole  
new faculty

Samford University has welcomed two new deans and 33 new full-time faculty members since Jan. 1, 2016. Although some began teaching earlier, most are beginning with the 2016-17 academic year. 

“These new colleagues join our more than 300 other outstanding faculty members in enhancing the academic stature of Samford University,” said Samford Provost J. Michael Hardin. “Our academic community, especially our students, benefit from the high academic credentials and professional experiences that these individuals bring to their new positions. We welcome them to Samford.” 

Keith Elder is the new dean of the School of Public Health in the College of Health Sciences. Timothy Hall is new dean of the Howard College of Arts and Sciences.

New faculty members include: 

Monique Ahinee Amamoo, associate professor of public health; Christopher Ballmann, assistant professor of kinesiology; Christopher Scott Bickel, associate professor of physical therapy; Michael Canfield, instructor of cardiopulmonary sciences; Pamela E. Carver, assistant professor of nursing; David Cecil, associate professor of social work; and Tadashia Jabril Cooper, instructor of cardiopulmonary sciences. 

Also, Crystal Monique Deas, assistant professor of pharmacy practice; Annalise DeVries, assistant professor of history; Anna-Leigh Stone Hankins, assistant professor of finance; Allison Catherine Harper, instructor of communication studies; Timothy A. Heath, assistant professor of music; Melanie Henningsen, instructor of nursing; Rebecca Anne Hyde, assistant librarian; Lacy Gunnoe, AFROTC; Thomas Kopec, professor of kinesiology; and Moira Jackson, associate professor of anatomy.

Also, Megan Lindsey-Taheri, instructor of nutrition and dietetics; Patricia Jumbo Lucioni, assistant professor of pharmacy; Anthony H. Minnema, assistant professor of history; Brandy Mobley, instructor of nursing; Christa Moore, instructor of nursing; Tondra Moore, associate professor of health administration; Kevin Kuang-Hung Pan, assistant professor of quantitative methods; and Ashley E. Parish, assistant professor of physical therapy.

Also, Josh Reeves, assistant professor of science and religion; David Robbins, assistant professor of health informatics and information management; Tracey M. Roberts, visiting professor of law; Ashley Robertson, assistant professor of healthcare administration; Richard Allen Rush, assistant professor of journalism and mass communication; Stephen T. Sanders, AFROTC; Elizabeth Ann Sheaffer, associate professor of pharmacy; and Michael Chad Thomas, professor of pharmacy practice.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.