Published on January 21, 2016 by Philip Poole  
employee awards luncheon

Samford University recognized 119 employees with 1,635 combined years of service at the annual employee awards luncheon Jan. 21.

Four faculty members were honored for 40 years of service, including Sharron Schlosser and Joy Whatley, nursing; Howard Walthall, law; and Elizabeth Wells, university library.

The word “legacy” was used to describe all four in special presentations.

“[Schlosser’s] commitment to her students is unparalled,” said Nena Sanders, Samford’s vice provost for health sciences and former nursing dean. “She truly is a visionary and a living legacy of the Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing.”

Henry Strickland, Cumberland School of Law dean, described Walthall as “a truly extraordinary orator.”

“He puts aside his own gifts to make sure his students learn and succeed,” Strickland said. “It is that dedication, along with his intellect . . . that have made him a legendary part of Samford and Cumberland.”

Sanders described Whatley as “the glue that held the undergraduate nursing program together.”

“She has been steadfast in her commitment to nursing, to the Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing and to Samford University,” Sanders added. “She has touched the lives of thousands of students who in turn have touched the lives of thousands of patients.”

Also during the program, Donna Harless, divinity, and Randall Richardson, arts, were honored for 35 years of service.

Three faculty members were recognized for 30 years, including Larry Davenport, arts and sciences; Robert Henderson, pharmacy; and Jennings Marshall, business.

Honored for 25 years of service were Kay Baugher, bursar’s office; Charlotte Baughn, David Chapman and David Dedo, arts and sciences; Jeanie Box, education; Jim Clement, risk management; Wanda Lucas, athletics; Jan Paine, nursing; and Pat Terry, public health.

Thirteen employees were honored for 20 years, including Garry Atkins, student affairs; Bruce Atkinson, John Mayfield and Sandra Willis, arts and sciences; Marshall Cates and Mary Worthington, pharmacy; Stan Davis, advancement; Janet Goodwin, human resources; Robb Hensarling, health professions; Brenda Jones, law library; Paul Kuruk, law; Heather Mitchell, career development; and Sandra O’Brien, president’s office.

Receiving 15-year service awards were Christy Allen and Doug Wilson, advancement; Dana Basinger, Millicent Bolden, Emily Hynds and Kelly Jensen, arts and sciences; Jennifer Beall and Eilani Grayson, pharmacy; Della Darby, law library; Les Ennis, education; Tom Fuller, Le-Ann Little and James Pounds, divinity; David Glenn and René Golden, arts; Rick Hinkle and Susan Nolin, technology services; Theresa Kanute, financial aid; Archie Lockamy and Cynthia Lohrke, business; Lenita Rice, bursar’s office; April Robinson, spiritual life; Sharon Smith, university services, Carol Ann Vaughn-Cross, core curriculum; and Carla Waddell, university library.

Recognized for 10 years of service were Cassandra Adams and Alyssa DiRusso, law; Doshia Bennett, Elizabeth Gambrell and David Loudon, business; Jason Black, admission; Mark Castle and Charles Ford, arts; Marigene Chamberlain, Theresa Davidson, Ryan Galloway and Brian Toone, arts and sciences; LaJeana Chitty, bookstore; Eva Click, Patricia Naro and Glenda Valdmanis, pharmacy; Joe Collins, grounds; Jill Cunningham and Vicki Rochester, nursing.

Also, Lyle Dorsett and Mark Gignilliat, divinity; Denise Gregory, diversity and intercultural initiatives; Allison Jackson, health professions; Myrtis Johnson, education; Candace Lambert, law library; Julie Myers, business services; and Fred Rogan and Julie Stewart, human resources.

Five-year honorees included Karen Birkenfield, Karen Bost and Betsy Rogers, education; Mandy Burford, athletics; Kathy Calhoun, accounting and financial services; Larissa Charny, university library; Mike Cole and Scott Leigh, public safety and emergency management; Philip Copeland, Mary Gurney and Eric Mathis, arts; Lori Coward, Greg Gorman, Anna Meador and Rachel Slaton, pharmacy; Tracey Dick, Lisa Gurley, Jane Holston and Gena Sullivan, nursing; and Toner Evans, institutional effectiveness.

Also, Kelly Fuller, admission; Grant Gentry, Marissa Grayson and Jennifer Layton, arts and sciences; Tinisha Glenn and Katie Stripling, health sciences; Susan Kalinich, provost’s office; Victoria Knierim, core curriculum; Susan McNabb, divinity; Renie Moss, student life; Chad Owens and Steve Smith, technology services; Donna Seibels, public health; Chandra Sparks Splond, marketing and communication; and Pam Thornton, bursar’s office.

“This group [of honorees] represents the cross-section of people who are Samford University,” said Fred Rogan, director of human resources. “What makes Samford extraordinary are the people. This is an opportunity for us to say thank you.”

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.