Published on January 17, 2013 by Philip Poole  
Service Awards 2013

Samford University recognized 1,460 years of collective service from 137 employees at the university's annual service awards luncheon Jan. 17.

Brad Bishop, professor in the Cumberland School of Law, was honored for 45 years of service.

Dean John Carroll recalled that he came to Cumberland as a student when Bishop was first joining the faculty. "He already had a reputation as one of the best teachers in the law school, and that reputation continues today," Carroll said. "He is a consummate teacher and lawyer. But, his greatest contribution is his sense of community for Cumberland. Nobody who is more revered for what he has done for our law school."

Eric Olson, theatre, and Glenn Schneider, technology services, were recognized for 30 years of service.

David Glenn, technical director in Samford's School of the Arts, said of Olson, "I don't know of a designer who is more conscientious in designing a show. He is on top o f his game right now. He is a wonderful man who has brought so much to Samford. They don't make people like him anymore."

David Hakanson, Samford' chief information officer, noted the significant technology changes that have occurred since Schneider first joined the university's staff and the thousands of miles of cable that have been laid across campus.

"All of that made possible because of wonderful people like Glenn," Hakanson said."And, I know for sure that Samford will continue to meet the growing technology demands because of people like Glenn."

Honored for 25 years of service were Mark Baggett, English; Bill Collins, political science; Debbie Hill, post office; Sandra Long, accounting and financial services; John Morgan, technology services; Alan Morris, bookstore; Peter Neuberger, athletics; Martha Ralls, education; David Smolin, law; and Alvin Wright, technology services.

The 20-year honorees included Steven Epley and Jane Hiles, English; Monty Hogewood, advancement; Ruth Holt, education; Janice James, law; Lynda Jentsch, world languages; Linda Killingsworth, pharmacy; Jeannie Krumdieck, interior architecture; and Sheila Thomas, provost's office.

Recognized for 15 years were Kim Benner and Sandra Boyken, pharmacy; Scott Camp, marketing and communication; Mearl Danner, technology services; Jeff Flaniken, music; Eric Fournier, geography; Sharon Jackson, business; Janie Kennedy, mathematics and computer science; Teresa Mauldin, law; Gretchen McDaniel, nursing; Jim McDowell and Tim McRae, technology services; Don Sandley, theatre; Janet Smith, education; Robert Smith, divinity; Heather West, world languages; Rob Willis, divinity; and Deborah Young, law.

Thirty-four employees were honored for 10 years of service: Ilaina Andrews, pharmacy; George Atchley, physics; Mary Sue Baldwin, associate provost; Cindy Berry, nursing; James Carlson, football; Kathryn Champion, international studies; Candi Cole, kinesiology and nutrition science; Billye Currie, core curriculum; Jonathan Davis, family studies; Sherry Davis, bursar; Shannon Flynt, classics; Kathryn Fouse, music; Brian Gregory, chemistry; Karen Hamby, institutional effectiveness; Michele Haralson, education; Arlene Hayne, nursing; Lori Hill, advancement; Betsy Holloway, business.

Also, Lisa Imbragulio, investments and legal services; Steve Inman, public safety; Danielle Johnson, decision support and financial strategy; Jane Leask, student records; Scott McGinnis, religion; Randy McKinney, accounting and financial services; Lori Northrup, university library; Jonathan Parker, pharmacy; Rhonda Parker, communication studies; Keith Putt, philosophy; Allen Ross, divinity; Charlie Sands, pharmacy; Joe Scrivner, religion; Teresa Wilborn, pharmacy; Charles Workman, world languages; and Todd Yelton, soccer.

The largest group - 63 employees - were recognized for five years, including Eric Allen, university library; Nancy Bales, student records; Pete Becker, campus recreation; Carl Beckwith, divinity; Diane Blakney, football; Buck Brock, business affairs; Cindy Brown, admission; Betsy Childs, divinity; Ken Cook, technology services, Katy Crowson, provost's office; Danielle Cruthirds, pharmacy; Adam Davis, technology services; LaJuana Davis, law; Bill D'Ottavio, football and Malia Fincher, biology.

Also, Tracy Fuller, athletics; Wendy Greene, law; Stacy Harrison, adult degree; Julie Head, nursing; Amy Hoaglund, education; Stephanie Honeycutt, Children's Learning Center; Chris Hopson, capital planning and improvement; Rebecca Huffstutler, accounting and financial services; Azalea Hulbert, Mann Center; Brooke Karr, education; Brian Kennedy, admission; Kara Kennedy, business school; Mike Ledgerwood, world languages; and Jordan Legg, bookstore.

Also, Sara Lightsey, basketball; Rachel Lim, arts; Larry Long, athletics; Anne Marovich, law; Suzanne McAdams, advancement; Suzanne Montgomery, Samford After Sundown; Pattie Neill, education; Michaela Odom, divinity; Marcie Parsons, bursar; John Petrella, kinesiology; Jennifer Rahn, geography; Don Rankin, art; Charles Read, technology services; Janie Schwartz, associate provost's office; Mark Searby, divinity; Susan Sheffield and Lora Shelton, nursing.

Also, Ron Shinn, music; Lane Smith, financial aid; Jennifer Steele, nursing; James Strange, religion; Alice Summerville, Children's Learning Center; Larry Thompson, art; Brad Tomas, admission; Robbie Tucker, public safety; David Vest, tennis; Kurt Vickery, capital planning and improvement; Lisa Vines, human resources; Doug Webster, divinity; Kath White, university ministries; Mary White, art; Laine Williams, marketing and communication; Geoff Wright, English; and Sean Wright, event and venue management.


Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.