Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2000-01-13

Dr. Joseph O. Dean, Jr., Dean of Samford University's McWhorter School of Pharmacy, has been elected chair-elect of the Council of Deans of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

The Council is comprised of each dean and associate dean from the 81 U.S. schools of pharmacy. The council, together with the Council of Faculties, comprise the governing body of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

Dr. Dean, a Samford pharmacy graduate, has been dean of McWhorter School of Pharmacy since 1991.


Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.