Published on August 29, 2019 by Sean Flynt  
Faculty Welcome

Howard College of Arts and Sciences welcomed 13 new faculty this fall, including new department chairs, tenure track faculty, post-doctoral assistant professors and one-year faculty. The group includes:

Taylor Cyr, Assistant Professor of Philosophy

John Marc Green, Instructor in Broadcasting

Brian Hamm, Assistant Professor of History

 Jonathan Den Hartog, Chair and Professor of History

Daniel Haun, Instructor in Advertising

Grant Henley, Chair and Professor of World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

Will Kynes, Associate Professor of Biblical and Religious Studies

David Luginbuhl, Director of Computer Science and Associate Professor

Niya Pickett Miller, Postdoctoral Assistant Professor of Communication Studies

Chris Pursell, Chair and Professor of Chemistry

Idrissa Snider, Visiting Assistant Professor of Print Journalism

Lee Trepanier, Chair and Professor of Political Science (fall 2020)

Douglas Walker, Postdoctoral Assistant Professor of Political Science

College dean Tim Hall formally presented the new faculty at an annual welcome event Aug. 21, and also thanked five outgoing department chairs, recapped 2018-19 faculty awards and provided an update on faculty sabbaticals. 

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.