Published on June 13, 2013  

Samford’s Religion Department presented a host of student honors at its annual awards dinner April 29. Awards included:

Samford Sunday Award (student director or directors who oversee the Samford Sunday preaching program)
Wes Spears
Alyssa Szymanski

Community of Scholars Award (significant contributions to the department as a community of scholars).
Jeffrey Cumberland

Vernon Davison Award (excellence in Biblical languages)
Isaac Johnson

Talley-Windsor Award (graduating seniors who are preparing for a church-related vocation and who have both performance and promise)
Andrew Moskau
Elizabeth Walker

Cowley Award (student demonstrating excellence in scholarship, leadership and commitment to ministry)
Leah Clements

Carlton F. Whirley Award (graduating senior who has expressed a vocational interest in missions, who as a student has demonstrated commitment to missions, and who through his or her academic career has expressed commitment to scholarship and learning)
Ryan Gaines

Herman Ross Arnold Award (graduating ministerial students who, in the opinion of the Department faculty and classmates, have best exemplified Christian humility and unselfish service and have best applied to the improvement of the mind)
Wes Spears
Alyssa Szymanski
Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.