Published on June 13, 2013  

Samford’s History Department presented its annual student honors in spring, 2013. 

The awards included:

William Pratt Dale II Award (junior who displays outstanding scholarship, character, and service)
Abby Morgan

David Vess Award (junior distinguished by excellence in academic achievement)
Zach Brown and Lydia Nace

Marlene Rikard Award (senior who has displayed excellence in academic achievement throughout her or his undergraduate career)
Evan Musgraves

Alumni Award (senior distinguished by outstanding research and scholarship)
Lauren Ziemer

Robert Leland Tindal Award (senior characterized by outstanding scholarship, Christian values, and service to the university)
Kathleen Artman

Phi Alpha Theta Award (senior with the highest GPA)
Kyle Young
Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.