Published on May 25, 2018 by Maryellen Newton  
Nursing Awards 2018

Samford University’s Ida Moffett School of Nursing honored outstanding students in its annual awards ceremonies. This year, awards were presented at two different events, one for undergraduate nursing students and the other for graduate nursing students.

The undergraduate nursing awards ceremony was held April 20 in Brock Recital Hall on Samford’s campus. Awards presented at this ceremony included the Baptist Health Systems Awards and Baptist Health Foundation Awards, presented by Alison Scott, executive director of the Baptist Health Foundation. Individual awards and the outstanding faculty award were also presented. In addition to these, 32 graduating diplomats, honor medal and academic achievement recipients were recognized.

Graduate nursing students were honored at a ceremony on May 3 in Samford’s Cooney Hall. Awards presented at this ceremony included the Baptist Health System Awards presented by Eric Jeffries, executive director of finance for Baptist Health System, and individual awards and recognition of 64 candidates for graduation with a cumulative 4.0 Grade Point Average (GPA).

Baptist Health System Awards 

Academic Achievement Award, Bachelor of Science in Nursing: Raeleigh Wetherbee
Academic Achievement Award, Accelerated Second Degree B.S.N.: Whitney Matheny
Academic Achievement Award Master of Science in Nursing: Caroline Huff 
Ida V. Moffett Caring Award: McKenzie Babb
Lucy Jarrell Estes Memorial Scholarship Award: Olivia Hutto
Marion A. Marx Nursing Scholarship Award: Caroline Boone
Ida V. Moffett Memorial Scholarship Awards: Dani Bischoff and Kendall Frawley
Elizabeth Calhoun Memorial Award: Whittney Jones 

Undergraduate Awards

Student Life Award: Callie Harris
Christian Leadership Award: Emily King
Lucille Stewart Beeson Nursing Award B.S.N.: Kamron Buehler
Outstanding Faculty Award: Dr. Geri W. Beers

Graduate Awards

Lonnie W. Funderburg Nurse Anesthesia Scholarship: Lane Stephens
Dr. Theresa Culpepper Professionalism Award: Sarah Mallanik
Agatha Hodgins Awards: Newton Tinsley and William Gafford
Arlene Nash Hayne Nursing Administration Award: Janet Smith
Sharron P. Schlosser Nurse Educator Awards: Victoria Bolus and Lauren Jones
Lucille Stewart Beeson Award, Master of Science in Nursing: Abigail White
Lucille Stewart Beeson Award, Doctor of Nursing Practice: Rachel Steil
Lucille Stewart Beeson Award, Post Master’s Doctor of Nursing Practice: Kimberly Wilson

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.