Published on October 23, 2018 by Catie Bell  
Nursing Courage to Care Gala 2018

Samford University’s Ida Moffett School of Nursing held its annual Courage to Care gala on Oct. 5. Distinguished alumni were honored for their exemplary service to the nursing profession and faithfulness to the maxims of the late Ida Vines Moffett, the school’s namesake.  

“Although our recipients have pursued vastly different career paths, you will see that Mrs. Moffett’s vision for academic excellence, caring, compassion and service, is at the foundation of each person’s approach to nursing practice,” said nursing school dean and vice provost of Samford’s College of Health Sciences Nena F. Sanders.

Those honored represented a variety of nursing backgrounds; from neonatal, intensive care, critical care, to military service, each has followed a unique path throughout his or her nursing careers. One Living Legacy Award and eight Courage to Care Awards were presented at the event.

Established in 2012 in celebration of the school’s 90th anniversary, the Living Legacy Award highlights a single alumnus each year whose impact has a significant reach through leadership and service to others. This year’s recipient is Sharron P. Schlosser.

Schlosser’s career has been centered on serving others through her academic excellence and leadership. After practicing nursing for many years, her role in education began as she was brought on staff at Ida Moffett School of Nursing in 1968, where she is currently a professor emeritus of nursing. She led a team and helped develop and coordinate the nurse educator track in the Master of Science in Nursing program as well as contributed to the development and implementation of the Doctor of Nursing Practice (D.N.P.) program. Known nationally as a master teacher, she has served as a mentor for innumerable nurse educators throughout the country.

The 2018 Courage to Care honorees are:

Benjamin P. Aaberg, B.S.N., RN, pediatric intensive care unit, Children’s Hospital Colorado

Winifred Henley Anger, A.D.N., A.S., B.S., RN, nurse, St. Vincent’s Neuro Spine Center

Col. Carol Beall, M.A., B.S.N., RN, retired deputy commander for nursing, United States Air Force, United States Army

Amy Duffey, B.S.N., RN, pre-admit testing, Brookwood Baptist Hospital

Terri G. Scarborough, A.S., B.S.N., M.S.N., M.H.A., RN, CCRNK, senior director of critical care, the University of Alabama at Birmingham Hospital

Joshua D. Talley, B.S.N., RN, stroke program coordinator, Brookwood Medical Center

Sandra Massey Turner, B.S.N., RN, charge nurse, St. Vincent’s East

Ronald W. Womack, CRNA, retired, Anniston Regional Medical Center

The event also recognized several dedicated supporters: gold sponsor John 3:16 and benefactor Carl A. Schaefer Sr. Family. Patron sponsors included: Brookwood Baptist Health, Jo and Robert Kicker, Kerry and Paula Gossett, Nesbitt Pain Associates, PC, St. Vincent’s Health System, Dr. Sharron Schlosser and Mr. Larry Schlosser, UAB Medicine.

Chris Moore, a previous Living Legacy Award recipient and chair of the nursing school’s advisory board, joined Sanders in the presentation of the awards. Gabrielle Macke, an officer of Samford University Association of Nursing Students, provided the invocation, and Mary Patterson, a senior at Ida Moffett School of Nursing, was the student speaker.

The School of Nursing presents Courage to Care awards and a Living Legacy award each year. To learn more about the awards and to download a nomination packet, please visit

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.