Published on May 15, 2015 by Katie Stripling  
nursing awards ceremony

In a series of three ceremonies, Samford University’s Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing recognized outstanding graduate and undergraduate students for 2015. 

The nursing school hosted two ceremonies on campus, one for undergraduate students on April 17 in Reid Chapel, and the other for graduate students on May 13 in the Pete Hanna Center.  In addition, Princeton Baptist Medical Center and the Baptist Health Foundation hosted students and faculty for a special awards luncheon on April 20. At the luncheon, Paula Davenport, Chief Nursing Officer, Princeton Baptist Medical Center, and Paige Connell, Executive Director of Development, Baptist Health Foundation, presented the student awards.    

The following awards were presented:

Undergraduate Awards
Lucille Stewart Beeson Nursing Award (B.S.N) Brianna Canady
Don R. Craft Nursing Scholarship Christina McKinney
Rebecca Lawson Horn Award Mary Katherine Parker
Student Life Award Kaley Cusumano
Christian Leadership Award Lucy Phillips
Head Family Missions Scholarship Beth Runyan

In addition to these awards, 11 graduating nursing diplomats received recognition and 52 students received honor medals at the ceremony.

Princeton Baptist Medical Center and Baptist Health Foundation Awards
Academic Achievement Award B.S.N. Hannah Ficarino
Academic Achievement Award M.S.N. Nikki Pritchett and Rebecca Willis
Ida V. Moffett Caring Award Hannah Sullivan
Elizabeth Calhoun Memorial Award Heather Robbins
Lucy Jarrell Estes Memorial Scholarship Award Lindsey Elrod
Marion A. Marx Nursing Scholarship Award Rebecca Jackson
Ida V. Moffett Memorial Scholarship Award Anna Foyt and Jennifer Ward
Graduate Awards
Lucille Stewart Beeson Award (M.S.N.) Joshua Elledge
Lucille Stewart Beeson Award (D.N.P.) Toni Roberts
LeeAnna Grace Cunningham FNP Scholarship Kari Adams
Alumni Association Award Bethany Adkins
Lonnie W. Funderburg Nurse Anesthesia Scholarship Diana Horne
Dr. Theresa Culpepper Professionalism Award Emily Bromley
Agatha Hodgins Award Jason Asher

In addition to these awards, 33 students were inducted into Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and 60 were inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society.

Please visit our Facebook Album for photos from all of the events.
Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.