Published on April 26, 2022 by Ashley Smith  
Music Seniors

The Division of Music in Samford University’s School of the Arts celebrated its students at the Annual Honors Recital on April 12 in Brock Recital Hall. Many scholarships and awards were made possible by generous donors.

“The night would not have been possible without the generous support of our donors.  Not only do they provide scholarship money for our students, but they endlessly support students, faculty, and staff with their time, presence, and encouragement,” said Division of Music interim chair Cindy St. Clair who hosted the evening.

The longstanding tradition included performances by music students, and awards were presented by faculty members Cindy St. Clair, Emily Andrews, Grant Dalton, Joel Davis, Jeff Flaniken, Kristin Kenning, Connie Macon and Beth McGinnis. Tessa Brown, Rebekah Lamb, Adam Moore, Jessica Smith, Lenox Jones (dancer), Emerie Ediger, Matthew Reber and Donny Snyder performed.

“Being able to share this event in person for the first time in two years brought a renewed excitement to the Division of Music.  We were joined by parents, members of our School of the Arts Advisory Board, and other donors and guests.  Our students seemed excited to learn about accomplishments from persistent and dedicated work and to experience performances by their peers, which included beautiful collaborations as well as solo work,” said St. Clair.

Outstanding students of the yearOutstanding student of the year awards went to Allison Frederick, freshman; Sarah Giadrosich, sophomore; Sam Gravlee, junior; Edward Garner, senior; and Kelsey Wade, graduate. 

The Barrington–Thompson Endowed Piano Scholarship is given by the family of interim dean Larry Thompson in honor of his grandfather Otto Barrington and mother Pat Thompson. Larry’s grandfather, a lifelong farmer, sacrificed to provide an education and to buy a piano for Larry’s mother. Pat Thompson spent her career as a teacher and served as a church pianist for sixty years. To honor this legacy, the Thompson family is proud to honor a deserving piano student with an annual scholarship. The 2022 Barrington-Thompson Endowed Piano Scholarship was awarded to James Powers.

The Shepherd/Walker Award went to Kerrig Kelly. This award was given by Ellis J. Parker in recognition of dedicated musical enrichment in the lives of others.

The Howard Weldon Smith Violin Award is given in memory of Dr. Smith by his wife Marie Smith and provides an annual scholarship to a violin student at Samford.  This year the award went to Adam Moore.

The Barbara Stevens Price Church Music Scholarship Award went to Katie Schansberg.  This fund was established by former dean Dr. Milburn Price in honor of his wife on their 35th wedding anniversary.

The Eva Clapp White Memorial Voice Scholarship Award went to Matthew Reber. Established by Paul Gaston White, the Eva Clapp White Memorial Voice Scholarship Award is to be awarded to a voice student as selected by the Dean of the School of the Arts upon the recommendation of the voice faculty.

The Dawson Organ Scholarship went to Elijah Samlowski. This scholarship is to provide scholarship assistance for currently enrolled or incoming Division of Music students pursuing studies in organ. The recipient is chosen based upon academic standing, organ proficiency, financial need and overall character.

The Robert B. Hatfield Scholarship for Excellence in Music Ministry was established to provide scholarship assistance for currently enrolled Samford Division of Music students studying music and worship. Candidates submit essays that consider past, present and future involvement in music ministry. The 2021 Robert B. Hatfield Scholarship Award went to Noah Myers.

Bailey CorneliusThe Presser Scholar Award went to junior Bailey Cornelius.  This merit award goes to an outstanding junior majoring in music who exemplifies high academic and music accomplishment, leadership and citizenship. 

Junior and clarinet performance major Rebekah Lamb was awarded both the Northrup Instrumental Performance Award and the Northrup Scholar Award. The Northrup awards are given by Jeff and Lori Northrup, both Samford employees touched by the talent and dedication of the Division of Music students.

This year’s Academy of the Arts teaching fellows are Allison Frederick, Kayla Magnus, Spencer Mosley, Donny Snyder, DeLee Benton, Cora Elmore and Lorraine Yant. These students gain valuable teaching experience through Samford’s Academy of the Arts which offers music and art lessons for students of all ages. 

Inductees to the Pi Kappa Lambda, Gamma Omicron Chapter were also announced.  Congratulations to these students joining this organization dedicated to music excellence: Edward Lee Garner, James Daniel Kirk, Jessica F. Lien, Shelbea Gabrielle Fordham, Madison C. McCugh and Joseph A Robinson.

Following the recital, students, families, faculty and guests enjoyed an in-person reception in Brock Recital Hall Lobby. 

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.