Samford University Howard College of Arts and Sciences

College and University Committees AY 2024-2025

Executive Committee

Speaker: Vice-Speaker: Secretary: Clay Corey (2025) David Bains (2025) Olivia Evans (2025)

Standing Committees

A&S Curriculum Committee (6 members)

Six members in staggered three year terms

- 1 Heather West (2025)
- 2 David Bains (2025)
- 3 Jordan Cissel (2026)
- 4 Olivia Evans (2026)
- 5 Carol Ann Vaughn Cross (2027)
- 6 Janie Kennedy (2027)

A&S Faculty Development & Evaluation Committee (6 members)

Six members in staggered three year terms Requirements: tenured faculty; at least one rep from each division A&S

- 1 Kelly Jensen (2025)
- 2 Stephen Chew (2025)
- 3 Kristin Bakkegard (2026)
- 4 Fred Shepherd (2026)
- 5 Don Olive (2027)
- 6 Mike Janas (2027)

A&S Research and Scholarship Committee (3 members)

Three members (one per division) in staggered three year terms

- 1 Kwadwo Antwi-Fordjour (2025)
- 2 Brian Hamm (2026)
- 3 Jennifer McClure Haraway (2027)

A&S Teaching Award Committee

Consists of all those who have received the award since its inception.

A&S Scholarship Award Committee (3 members)

Scholarship Award Committee reviews undergraduate candidates for A&S Scholarships. Candidates should represent the three areas of specialization in

HCAS: Humanities, Social Sciences, and STEM fields.

- 1 STEM Eric Remington (2025)
- 2 Social Sc. Mandy Howard (2026)
- 3 Humanities Brian Hamm (2027)

A&S Sunshine and Shade Director (3 members)

Sunshine and Shade Director is a one-year position

- 1 Annie DeVries (2025)
- 2 Jennifer Speights-Binet (2026)
- 3 James Strange (2027)

A&S Nominating Committee (3 members)

Three members in staggered three year terms.

- 1 Jennifer Rahn (2025)
- 2 Andy Montgomery (2026)
- 3 Riley Lovejoy (2027)

University Committees

University Academic Affairs Committee (3 representatives)

Three representatives in staggered three year terms.

- 1 Jack Berry (2025)
- 2 Anthony Overton (2026)
- 3 LeeAnn Reynolds (2027)

University Academic Technology and Learning Committee (1 representative)

One representative serving a three year term.

1 Frank Patane (2027)

University Athletics Committee (1 representative)

One representative serving a three year term.

1 Corey Johnson (2026)

University Business Affairs and Faculty Welfare Committee (1 representative)

One representative serving a three year term.

1 Scott McGinnis (2026)

University Campus Life Committee (3 representatives)

Three representatives in staggered three year terms.

1 Tiffany Robayna (2025)

- 2 Heather West (2026)
- 3 Katelynn Corder-Grier (2027)

University Curriculum Committee (3 representatives)

Three representatives in staggered three year terms.

- 1 James Strange (2025)
- 2 Andy Montgomery (2026)
- 3 Jordan Cissell (2027)

University Diversity Committee (3 representatives)

Three representatives in staggered three year terms.

- 1 Niya Pickett Miller (2025)
- 2 Ignatius Fosu (2026)
- 3 Sara Ortega-Higgs (2027)

University Enrollment Committee (3 representatives)

Three representatives in staggered three year terms.

- 1 Tiffany Robayna (2025)
- 2 Kenyon Gradert (2026)
- 3 Brad Bennett (2027)

University General Education Committee (6 representatives)

One A&S member must serve as committee chair

- 1 Rob Elsner (2025)
- 2 Jonathan Bass (2025)
- 3 Jennifer Speights-Binet (2026)
- 4 Clay Carey (2026)
- 5 Drew Hataway (2027)
- 6 Rony Kozman (2027)

University Elections Committee (1 representative)

The Chair of the A&S Nominating should serve in this position each year.

1 Jennifer Rahn (2025)

University Committee on Global Engagement (3 representatives)

Requirements: Study abroad teaching experience. Three representatives in staggered three year terms. At least one member should be from the Department of World Languages and Cultures

- 1 Doug Clapp (2025)
- 2 Jonathan Fleming (2026)
- 3 Dieter Waldvogel (WLAC; 2027)

Faculty Senate (12 representatives)

Requirements: 3 years as full-time faculty. Must take 1 year off between (full) terms

- 1 Carol Ann Vaughn Cross (2025)
- 2 Jeffrey Powell (2025)
- 3 Kelly Jensen (2025)
- 4 Stephen Strickland (2026)
- 5 James Strange (2026)
- 6 Chris Pursell (2026)
- 7 Nia Johnson (2027)
- 8 Keith Putt (2027)
- 9 Mike Janas (2027)
- 10 Kevin Drace (2027)
- 11 Brian Gregory (2027)
- 12 David Bains (2027)